Tatianna - Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend

Book Reviews

Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
5 Star Amazon Review
Review by Sunshine Lady
March 22, 2011

This is a beautifully written inspirational book about the unconditional love between a human and animal. I enjoyed every page so much I could hardly put the book down. The story is the most heartfelt book I have read in a long time. It is a tear jerker at times but there are alot of funny parts also that made me laugh. The photo's are lovely. Author Linda Mohr also shares the loss of her beloved boyfriend and father and how Tatianna was always by her side even when her spirits depressed and life seemed hopeless. The entire story touched my soul deeply. I also enjoyed the information on holistic treatments and daily affirmations. Tatianna becomes sick with Kidney diease and together they battle 3 years as their bond grows even stronger. I think this would be helpful for anyone with a sick pet. I recently lost my dog and cat just months a part. I relate so well to the emotions and eternal bond she shares with Tatianna. I think anyone who has loved and lost a special cat or dog will love this book.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Review by Dorothy F. Skinner
5 Star Amazon Review
February 5, 2011

"Heart-felt" is the first word that springs to mind regarding Linda Mohr's TATIANNA: TALES AND TEACHINGS OF MY FELINE FRIEND. In fact, no other word comes close to capturing the essence of this book, which won the 2008 Merial Human-Animal Bond Award from the Cat Writers' Association. Tatianna, a beautiful Siamese-cross kitten came into Mohr's life just as she was in the process of saying good-bye to another much-loved cat. And in the years that followed, she saw her human through other -- and even greater -- losses, giving love unstintingly and speaking "to my soul with her sparkling, penetrating blue eyes. She was clearly journeying with me -- wherever we went and for as long as it took. She gave me the gift of hope."

Mohr's writing is soulful and moving, and we come away from this book realizing that some connections do indeed transcend time and space -- that in some cases, as with Mohr and Tatianna, the journey doesn't end. Ever.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Marci Kladnik
Catalyst for Cats, Inc. Board Member
Santa Ynez Valley News
August 5, 2010

A touching story of unselfish love and acceptance that only a pet can bestow from kittenhood through illness and on into death. For anyone who has loved and lost a pet, this book will help you heal.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Nicole Sweet
5 Star Amazon Review
July 8, 2010

Brilliant and precious!

Linda's book, TATIANNA, is a beautiful and heartfelt masterpiece. Her writing is brilliant; her story a treasure; and, the lessons unforgettable. I'm very much a dog person, yet I loved reading this cat book!


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Roberta Beach Jacobsen
a.k.a. The Cat Lady
Karpathos, Greece
5 Star Amazon Book Review
April 21, 2010

A spirited and spiritual read!

Animal lover Linda A. Mohr has learned a great deal from felines, particularly during her fifteen and a half grand years spent with a Siamese mix by her side (better said, in her lap). As an indoor cat in a house with numerous rooms to explore, Tatianna disrupted board games, chewed shoelaces (as well as other cats' ears), shredded toilet paper, climbed antiques and created pawful fun under the Christmas tree.

The unbreakable human-animal bond is the main focus of Tatianna: Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend (iUniverse, 2007). As a bonus, the book is peppered with Mohr's endearing affirmations and confessions (such as about owning more than two hundred cat motif Christmas ornaments). It adds up to an inspiring, intelligent read.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Ann Pakeman
Ann Walker.com Blog
March 17, 2010

I have had a frustrating three and a half weeks as I was off line for that time. However like all trials it had its compensations. With less time spent on the computer I got a lot more reading done. Among the books I enjoyed in this period are two animal books. One was Tatianna by Linda Mohr. This beautiful book chronicles the fifteen year relationship between Linda and Tatianna, For those who have ever had a close relationship with a cat (or any other animal) this book will strike a chord; Linda brings out the true essence, or soul of this lovely cat. Those who think of cats as cool and self possessed are so wrong, cats are all emotion and capable of immense love for their human friends.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Recommended by E. Mitchell
Film Hound Blog
February 26, 2010

If you feel like curling up with a good cat, dog or creature book this weekend, check out Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend.


Tatianna—Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Ingrid King
5 Star Amazon Book Review
March 23, 2009

This is one of the most moving and heartfelt books about the bond between a cat and her person that I have read in a long time. The relationship between the author and Tatianna is one of those soulmate relationships with an animal that come once in a lifetime. Tatianna, through her joyful spirit and unwavering courage, teaches the author about love, devotion and spiritual expansion. In addition to sharing her journey with Tatianna, the author provides well-researched information on how to live with and care for a cat with kidney disease. The book is a triumph of the spirit, both feline and human, and a testament to the truth that we are all eternal beings.


Tatianna—Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Yvonne Phillips FSII
Feng Shui ABC
5 Star Amazon Book Review
February 5, 2009

Linda Mohr writes such a great story about Tatianna and her other animals in her life. She writes so well that you can see her warm, charming house that she loves along with her animals. I like how she brings you into the yard with such descriptive adjectives and how Tatianna and the other cats interact outside. You know that in this house whether animal or human, you will be treated like a king or queen. That is exactly how well she has taken care of her animal friends, whether they were sick or just taking care of them daily.

When she describes her animals and her house, you want to be there. She has had trials and tribulations with her animals, but she has managed to move on and remember that they truly are near her in spirit. Linda believes that these little animals are still with you once they leave their bodies and I would have to say that she is right. Why would anyone want to leave this home that was so comforting to them? Animals are a gift to all of us on earth and a lot of us have lost our own special animals. This book can do nothing but place a smile on your face.


Tatianna—Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Dawn Musgrave-Demarest
5 Star Amazon Book Review
November 11, 2008

While reading this heartfelt journey, I began to look at my own two cats differently. I have always had animals in my home, but have never truely viewed them as a vital member of the household. As I read this book, I began to really take a look at my two cats, Athena and Ares, in an emotional way. Each one has its own personality and behavior traits which makes them so special. They vie for my time and attention and they get jealous if I am paying more attention to one and not the other. Linda Mohr has opened my eyes to the vital role each of them play as a member of my family and that they have more to offer than just their presence in the house, but a comforting spirit, unconditional love, and a playful nature that is sure to cure anything.


Tatianna—Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Linda Sacha
The Birthday Princess
5 Star Amazon Book Review
November 3, 2008

I'm a dog person. I'm allergic to cats and have never been a big feline fan. When a friend suggested I read Tatianna I did so only because we have similar taste in books. My friend did not let me down and either did the author, Linda Mohr.

If you love cats - it's a bonus, but this dog lover fell in love with Tatianna and her other feline buddies. Mohr weaves a personal tale of love - a bond that is so rich and deep that I hugged my dog even more after finishing the book. Mohr invites you into her world as she shares intimate details of what love of man and animal can accomplish. Lotsa joy. Lotsa tears. What a lovely story - if you're a human you'll love it too!


Book Review for Merial Human-Animal Bond Award
Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
November 2008
Reviewed by Judge: Randy Grim, founder and director of Stray Rescue, Grim and his staff have received the Red Cross Life Saver Award and the St. Louis FOCUS award for "innovative solutions."

The Merial Human-Animal bond Award is presented to the entry that best reflects and promotes the strengthening of the human-animal bond, highlighting the bond between a cat and owner, as well as their relationship with their veterinarian as another direct caregiver. Merial is a world leading animal health company. Their sponsored award is presented through Cat Writers' Association.

Judge's comments: "It met all the judging criteria for special awards, wonderful story telling. (It had the) best ability to reflect and promote the strengthening of the cat/guardian bond and relationship."


Book Review
Tatianna—Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Palm Beach Gardens-Jupiter Book Club
October 14, 2008

Tatianna is an intimate sharing of a journey filled with human challenges and the growth and development that result. You were so generous in sharing your reflections and revealing your own evolving emotions and development. We realized the great richness of resources and reassurances that can be found, even during a time of grief. The unexpected people who stand as resources and the unconditional love of our pets came alive with your personal experience. Each chapter was a complete essay within itself but woven together so that the patterns and continuous cycles we recognize in our lives were naturally developed. Thank you for your generous and personal sharing, your ease of language that will appeal to any reader at any age, and the perseverance it took to produce a book that can spark the assurance that an abundance of unconditional love is available right at home with our pets.


Tatianna - Tales and Teachings of My Feline FriendTatianna Book Review
Marisa D'Vari
Building Buzz: How to Reach and Impress Your Target Audience
March 22, 2008

Cat Book Review: Tatianna, by Linda Mohr

“I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another!” Irving Townsend

 Linda Mohr, author of the touching and emotional book Tatianna: Tales and Teaching of My Female Friend, offers many poignant quotes such the one singled out above to show how humans and cats have bonded so intimately over the centuries.

You have probably seen pictures of Egyptian tombs and have expressed surprise to see how many statues of cats are found in them. Cats were given special status in Egyptian society and even worshipped. Americans today spend over sixty million dollars a year on their cats according to the latest statistics, but unlike the Egyptians, keep their “worship” of their feline friends to themselves.

Americans have also divided themselves into cat people and dog people – with some families having a few of each – but there are significant differences between the two. Cat people have an intense emotional relationship with their cats. Because cats (at least, most cats) do not take instruction, much of the communication between cats and humans is intuitive. Humans seem to instinctively know what their cats want. Cats are also keenly aware of their human’s emotions, and depending on the nature and personality of the cat, will either try to “be good and provide comfort when needed,” or will ignore the human and make the human grow needier and more dependent.

Dogs, from what I can glimmer, listen. They do as they are told. Few dogs that I am aware of take pleasure in teasing and testing their human as does the occasional (or typical?) cat. Though many dog people have intense relationships with their pet, the master/servant role is clear cut. Between cats and humans, one is never sure who is the boss (from my experience, it’s usually the cat though some smart cats know it is in their best interest to act otherwise).

Which brings me to the review of Linda Mohr’s book. If you are reading this review you likely have a cat and already know the joys and pleasures of being able to enjoy unconditional love with your chosen creature – or the creature who has chosen you! Tatianna came into Mohr’s life when she was thirty-five and sparked what would be even more happy events. Soon a man named Ken came into Mohr’s life, a delightful-sounding man who left cute notes under the windshield of her car in the mornings. When Ken was briefly injured in a motorcycle accident, it was Tatianna who helped Mohr keep everything together.

Of course, everything in life comes to an end, and the last chapters of the book echoes Mohr’s heroic efforts to keep her friend comfortable during her last days. Yet what I found most poignant is Mohr’s attitude once she found her way to work through her grief. In life, Tatianna was never allowed to go on the three week plus trips Mohr took each year. Now that Tatianna was in spirit form, she could go wherever Mohr went, see the things she saw, and share the experience. This is a very positive outlook and a very satisfying way to end the journey between a woman and a very special cat.


Tatianna--Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
Reviewed by Rita M. Reynolds
Author of Blessing The Bridge
5 Star Amazon Review
February 22, 2008

A loving tribute!

Not too often does a book centered around one specific animal have such a positive impact on the reader as does this book. Nor do many memoirs radiate the intense compassion for not just that one creature, but for all life. The author clearly carries her respect and love for her cat, Tatianna, into all she does, all she believes in. As a writer, speaker, and educator, this could not be more important.

Tatianna carries us on a profound journey - one that contains all the best ingredients for learning, laughing, grieving, and growing through everything that makes us better people. In this delightful book we not only befriend Linda and her beloved Tatianna, but bring from the experience an enhanced understanding of love and respect for others. And that is just one aspect of this particular volume that makes it so special. The excellent writing takes the reader through all the emotions associated with animal care-giving, yes even the 'Saying Good-bye' part...but be assured there is much that will make you smile and laugh aloud as well. Those who know cats well will feel as if they have met a kindred spirit in Linda Mohr.

This is a grand book - well written, beautifully designed. It is comfortable to hold in the hands and the print and page size is kind to the eyes. It is a book that should be in every animal appreciator's library. Even the die-hard dog lover will find great joy in reading Tatianna.


Tatianna, Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
iUniverse, 2007
Hardcover, 111 pages, illustrated with photographs, $23.95
Also available in paperback, $13.95
Reviewed by Rita M. Reynolds for LaJoie, The Journal in Appreciation of All Animals
Winter 2008

A quarterly publication dedicated to promoting appreciation for all beings through education, adoption/sponsorship and inter-support programs.

Tatianna - Tales and Teachings of My Feline FriendNot too often does a book centered around one specific animal have such a positive impact on the reader as does Tatianna, Tales and Teaching of My Feline Friend, by Linda A. Mohr. Nor do many memoirs radiate the intense compassion for not just that one creature, but for all life. The author clearly carries her respect and love for her cat, Tatianna, into all she does, all she believes in.  As a writer, speaker, and educator, this could not be more important.

Linda Mohr has loved animals for a very long time, sharing her home with the lovely Tatianna and many other cats:  Noelle, Taittinger, Marnie, and Katarina. And Linda’s talents are many. As professor at Northwood University’s West Palm Beach (FL) campus, she holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Missouri, a Masters of Business Administration degree, and a Masters of Science degree from Purdue University.

Tatianna carries us on a profound journey—one that contains all the best ingredients for learning, laughing, grieving, and growing through everything that makes us better people. In our reading of this delightful book we not only befriend Linda and her beloved Tatianna, but bring from the experience an enhanced understanding of love and respect for all others. And that is just one aspect of this particular volume that makes it so special.

The excellent writing takes the reader through all the emotions associated with animal care-giving, yes even the ‘Saying Good-bye’ part. And while one might easily say, “no, thank you, that’s too painful for me,” please trust that the beautiful overall story of such an extraordinary being is well worth keeping the box of tissues close by. Death is, after all, an essential part of life. Linda offers us a perfect view into life beyond death, and how animals will communicate their new wellness to us after they have left their body. In this regard alone (among so many others) one cannot help but come away grateful for knowing both the author and Tatianna.

And be assured there is much in this book that will make you smile and laugh aloud. Linda writes: “Tatianna was a bundle of lightheartedness from the minute I got up in the morning until I retired in the evening. A joyous aura of adventure surrounded her, and I could not help but smile just looking at her. Her companionship soothed me in my time of need. She was like an ointment of love, providing me with comfort and solace. Even as a kitten she could intuit exactly what I needed to uplift my spirit…”  Those who know cats well will feel as if they have met a kindred spirit in Linda Mohr.

Tatianna is a grand book, well written, beautifully designed. It is comfortable to hold in the hands, and the print and page size is kind to the eyes. Available in both hardcover and paperback, it is easy to keep a copy in one’s personal collection and give at least one as a gift. It is, without question, a book that should be in every animal appreciator’s library. Even the die-hard dog lover will find great joy in reading Tatianna.


Tatianna: Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend
Linda A. Mohr
iUniverse (2007)
ISBN 9780595426775
Reviewed by Richard R. Blake for Reader Views (1/08)Tatianna - Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend

Pet lovers will love this poignantly told story of Tatianna as written by Linda A. Mohr. It is the story of a sixteen-year journey, of bonding, and of the healing experienced by Linda from Tatianna in a time of grief. Later Linda became Tatianna’s caregiver and lifeline during her extended illness.

After the loss of her fiancé, Ken, in a motorcycle accident, Linda explained Tatianna’s help this way. “Although I had lost a physical life with Ken the devoted love, tenderness, and companionship of Tatinanna sustained me.”

Linda’s doting descriptions of Tatianna included phrases like: “She provided companionship in solitude, was mischievous, rambunctious, and curious. She was friendly, but aggressive, social, adventurous, and she loved unconditionally. She was devoted, protective, and amusing.”

I found the quotations at the beginning of each chapter as well as Linda’s original poems, affirmations, and positive reinforcements to be both inspirational and thought-provoking. Linda’s personal and firm conviction of God's working through these experiences on a daily basis came through in her writing.

In her Christmas letter in 2000 Linda wrote, “On the furry front, Tatinanna is now over fifteen-years-old, and she has been miraculously battling kidney disease for the past two and one-half years. We continue her daily therapy and affirmations. You would never know she was ill by looking at her.”

Linda’s detailed accounts of the treatments, therapy, prescriptions, affirmations, and acupuncture are of tremendous value to any pet owner going through similar disease processes with their pets. Tatianna’s Circle of Life Gallery highlights the pages of the book and adds a unique appeal to her story. I found myself enjoying the pictures many times, as well as frequently referring to the very unique presentation of an illustrated timeline provided as a part of the preface to the book.

Linda's descriptions of her elaborate Christmas trees with their unique ornaments, and her astounding collection of antiques will add interior decorators, and antique dealers, to her list of eager readers, which include pet owners, pet store operators, and veterinarians.

The chronicles of Tatianna, her feline friends, and her biographer Linda A. Mohr is a heartwarming story of an amazing, loving, spiritual bonding relationship of a pet and her owner. Linda A. Mohr is a gifted writer. “Tatianna: Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend” is one of endurance, bravery, strength, faith, and love. Simply beautiful.


Meet Linda Mohr | Author Interview | Speaker Series | Favorite Pet Books | Contact Linda Mohr
Buy the Book | Table of Contents | Book Excerpts | Book Reviews | Reader Feedback
Share Your Story | Library & Links | Media Kit | Bookings & Events
Photo Gallery | Blog | Home

www.lindamohr.net
Tatianna ~ Tales and Teachings of My Feline Friend ~ Copyright © 2008-2009 ~ All Rights Reserved